New Leadership of the Liberian Senate Unveils Committee Assignments for 55th Legislature

The newly elected leadership of the Liberian Senate for the 55th Legislature has revealed its committee assignments.

Senator Nyonblee Karnge-Lawrence from Grand Bassa assumes the role of President Protempore. Senator James P. Biney of Maryland will head the Executive Committee, while Senator Abraham Darius Dillon, representing Montserrado, takes charge of Foreign Affairs.

Former Pro-Tempore Albert T. Chie, hailing from Grand Kru, is appointed Chairman on Public Works. Senator Cllr. Augustine Chea of Sinoe will oversee the Judiciary.

Senator Prince K. Moye from Bong will lead the pivotal Committee on Ways, Means, Finance, and Budget. Meanwhile, Senator Momo T. Cyrus of Lofa will play a crucial role as Chairman on Defense, Security, and Veteran Affairs.

The leadership extends to the administration with Senator Gble-bo Brown of Maryland taking charge of Rules, Order.Senator Nathaniel F. McGill from Margibi will spearhead the Committee on Education and Public Administration.

Health matters fall under the capable guidance of Senator Dabah M. Varpilah from Grand Cape Mount, while Senator Prince Y. Johnson, representing Nimba, is entrusted with overseeing Internal Affairs. Senator Armah Konneh of Gbarpolu will manage the critical Public Account and Audit Committee.

Senators Edwin M. Snowe and J. Alex Tyler, both from Bomi, have been appointed as ECOWAS Representatives. Lastly, Senator Francis Dopoe from River Gee and Cyrton Duncan from Sinoe will serve as IPU Representatives.