Senate Protemp Karngar-Lawrence Appoints Chairs of Senate Standing Committees

Senate Protemp of the Liberian Senate Nyonblee Karngar-Lawrence has appointed Chairs of the Senate Standing Committees.

Those appointed included Senator Numene Bartekwa, Concessions and Investment, Joseph Jallah, Banking and Currency, Johnny Kpehe, Autonomous Agencies and Commissions, and Thomas Yayah Nimely Labor.

Others are Bill Twehway, Transport, Emmanuel Nuquay, Public Corporations, Edwin Snowe, Legislative Modernization and Projects, and Zoe Pennoh, Social Security, among others.

According to Senate Protemp Karngar-Lawrence, additional appointments will be made on Thursday, January 18, 2024.

Protemp Nyonblee Karngar-Lawrence then called on Chairs of the Standing Committees to effectively and efficiently exercise their oversight responsibilities.

At the same time, Senate Protemp Karngar-Lawrence has set up an ad hoc committee to harmonize views and concerns raised by Senators on the development of the Country.

Members of the ad hoc committee are Emmanuel Nuquay, Amara Konneh, Darbah Varpilah, Gbehzongar Findley, Darius Dillon, and Gbleh-Bo Brown.

The Senators, during the first session of the 55th National Legislature, raised concern over the provision of basic social services to their constituents.

They referred to good road networks; improved health, quality education, agriculture, security, and job provision.

Meanwhile, the Committees are expected to report to the Plenary on Thursday, January 18, 2024.